Financial centre with attractive advantages


The Principality of Liechtenstein is a small, German speaking country in Central Europe, bordered by Switzerland to the west and south and by Austria to the east and north. Its area is just over 160 square kilometres (62 square miles), and it has an estimated population of 37,000 (2014). Liechtenstein is divided into 11 municipalities. Its main municipality is Vaduz.


Liechtenstein is a constitutional hereditary monarchy based on a democratic and parliamentary foundation. Its Reigning Prince is Hans-Adam II. In 2004, the Reigning Prince entrusted his eldest son, Hereditary Prince Alois, with the exercise of all sovereign rights, but remained Head of State in accordance with the Constitution.


Official currency in Liechtenstein is the Swiss Franc (CHF). Moreover, a Customs Union Treaty between Switzerland and Liechtenstein is in force since 1924.


Liechtenstein is a member of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and part of the European Economic Area (EEA) as well as the Schengen Area, but not of the European Union (EU).


Liechtenstein is primarily famous for its financial sector. Its economic upturn came with the introduction of the new Law on Persons and Companies in the beginning of the 20th century. The new formed Foundations, Establishments and Trusts combined with their low taxation were a great success. Today, Liechtenstein is well-known for its legal security, political stability, the strong connection to Switzerland by a Customs Union Treaty as well as a Currency Treaty and the well-educated workforce.


Principality of Liechtenstein
www.liechtenstein.li

Parliament of Liechtenstein
www.landtag.li

Government of Liechtenstein
www.regierung.li

Princely House of Liechtenstein
www.fuerstenhaus.li

Finanzplatz mit attraktiven Vorteilen


Das Fürstentum Liechtenstein ist ein kleiner, deutschsprachiger Staat in Zentraleuropa, der im Westen und Süden an die Schweiz und im Osten und Norden an Österreich grenzt. Liechtenstein hat eine Fläche von ca. 160 km2 und rund 37‘000 Einwohner (Stand 2014). Das Staatsgebiet ist aufgeteilt in 11 Gemeinden, deren Hauptgemeinde Vaduz ist.


Die Staatsform Liechtensteins ist die Erbmonarchie auf parlamentarischer und demokratischer Grundlage. Staatsoberhaupt ist Fürst Hans Adam II. Seit 2004 führt sein ältester Sohn, Erbprinz Alois, die Staatsgeschäfte.


Die amtliche Währung in Liechtenstein ist aufgrund des Währungsvertrages mit der Schweiz der Schweizer Franken (CHF). Seit dem Jahr 1924 besteht zwischen der Schweiz und Liechtenstein ausserdem ein Zollvertrag.


Liechtenstein ist Mitglied des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums (EWR), der Europäischen Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA) und des Schengen Abkommens, jedoch nicht der Europäischen Union (EU).


Das Fürstentum Liechtenstein ist bekannt für seinen Finanzplatz. Seinen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung erlebte es Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts aufgrund des in Kraft gesetzten Personen- und Gesellschaftsrechts (PGR). Die liechtensteinischen Gesellschaftsformen kombiniert mit ihrer niedrigen Besteuerung sind bis heute Erfolgsfaktoren. Daneben ist Liechtenstein bekannt für seine rechtliche und politische Stabilität, die starke Anbindung an die Schweiz und die gut ausgebildeten Arbeitskräfte im Finanzsektor.


Fürstentum Liechtenstein
www.liechtenstein.li

Liechtensteinisches Parlament
www.landtag.li

Liechtensteinische Regierung
www.regierung.li

Fürstenhaus von Liechtenstein
www.fuerstenhaus.li